comment search links








facts B&H


facts UAE


















































Flag, coat of arms  and anthem?



Facts on Bosnia and Herzegovina


Map of Bosnia and Herzegovina



Official name: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Capital: Sarajevo

Area: 51,233 km2

Location: Southeastern Europe, bordering the Adriatic Sea, Croatia and SR Yugoslavia.

Land Boundaries: 1.459 km (932 km with Croatia; 357 km with Serbia; 240 with Montenegro)

Coast Line: 21 km

Population: 4.354.911 (1991)

Population Density: 85.2 per km2

Constitutive Peoples:

  • Bosniacs 44%

  • Serbs     31%

  • Croats    17%

  • Others     8%

Religion: Islam 44%, Orthodox 31%, Catholic 17%, other 8%

Official Languages: Bosnian, Serbian, Croatian

Other major cities: Mostar, Tuzla, Zenica, Banja Luka, Bihac, Bijeljina, Brcko (District)

Climate: Continental. Hot summers and cold winters.

Elevation extremes

  • Lowest point: Adriatic Sea- 0 m

  • Highest point: Maglic mountain 2.386 m

Currency: 1 Convertible Mark = 1 DEM

GDP: US$ 3.4 billion

GDP (per capita): US$ 880

National resources:

  • Wood, coal, iron, bauxite, manganese, copper, chromium, lead, zinc.

  • Forest and woodland - 39%, arable land - 14%, permanent crops - 5%, permanent pastures - 20%, , other - 22%.

Manufactured products: Textiles, clothing and footwear, chemical, electrical and machinery, iron, steel and aluminum and processed food.

Energy: Electricity, coal and coke

On the Top












Institutions of the State


Chef of State Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina (3 members)
Government Council of Ministers


Parliament Assembly of Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • House of Representatives (42 members)
  • House of Peoples (15 members)


Constitutional Court

Central Bank

Human Rights Commission

On the Top


Structure of the State


Bosnia and Herzegovina consists of two entities and one District. Entities are: Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (51%) and Republika Srpska (41%). District is Municipality Brčko. Federation consists of 10 Cantons and Republika Srpska consists of Municipalities.
On the Top

Comments and questions about web site you can send to author's  mail

Last change :   29.05.2007